For The Residents

The Cookie Project Video

Hi. My name is Jen Anderson. I ride my bike past your house a lot during the summer, and I wanted to say thank you for driving safely around my training partners and I. I decided to ask the local triathlete and cycling community to help me say thank you to you and your neighbors, all 357 residences on the Ironman Wisconsin bike loop. Over 60 athletes home-baked 2,200 cookies for you with sincere gratitude and appreciation.

I wish that my legs could pedal as fast as you can drive, but unfortunately I’m not that fast. I hope you know that I really appreciate it when you slow down and move over when it’s safe to pass and allow me some room in the lane. I promise to always do my best and be a responsible cyclist. I vow to be aware of my surroundings, and listen for cars approaching. I will not litter in your lawn and I will stop at the stop signs in your neighborhood.

I have a lot of friends that I love very much that also ride the course, so thank you for watching out for them, too. I am a very lucky athlete to be able to ride the roads of the Ironman Wisconsin bike course. I am so thankful to be able to bike the beautiful country and the challenging hills. Thank you for watching out for me and driving safely around me so I can ride these roads for years to come.

If you want to know more about how we can both share the roads, you can visit this website:
http://wisconsinbikefed.org/for-your-community/share-be-aware/

Standard

3 thoughts on “For The Residents

  1. I love each and every one of you! You made my day when I went to my mailbox and saw this cute little bag hanging and was surprised to find beautifully hand made cookies.WOW! You have taken each one of our neighbors hearts and put love into it. I appreciate your commitment to reach out to the neighbors with your loving cookies to make a difference for them and your self.
    I am volunteering for the AIDS Life Cycle ride next week in California and can appreciate safety for everyone. this is a link to my personal website http://www.tofighthiv.org/goto/michaeldix
    WITH MUCH LOVE & APPRECIATION
    Michael Dix
    Michael’s Frozen Custard
    3622 Garfoot Rd
    Mount Horeb WI 53572

  2. C. Kendrick says:

    Thank you for your kind and thoughtful gesture. I enjoyed the cookies immensely…what a treat! I enjoy watching each and every one of you go by my house and admire your commitment. I wish you all the best of luck!

    C. Kendrick
    Garfoot Road

  3. Sue says:

    The cookies were a sweet treat, and we loved them! We always look forward to Ironman in September and cheering for all the bicyclists as they go up “our” hill on Midtown Road. It is amazing to see your improved stamina throughout the summer as we follow you up the hill. May each of you have your personal best this year!!!

Leave a Reply

